Remote Care

Around 3,500 people receive a cochlear implant in Germany every year – with increasing tendency. At the Medical University of Hannover (MHH) alone, approximately 500 individuals with severe to profound hearing loss are now implanted every year. Many of them prefer to have their follow-up care close to home while at the same time benefiting from the expertise of the implanting centre. This is why we have established a ‘remote care’ programme, which enables patients to have their speech processor fitting carried out remotely at the practice of a local ENT physician in accordance with strict quality assurance criteria.

The technology used for this purpose was developed by auric Hörsysteme, a company based in Rheine (Germany). The firm provides a recently developed CI remote-fitting system featuring real-time HD video transmission. The expert audiologist’s computer is equipped with two monitors, and the patient has a screen showing the audiologist via video link. A microphone and free-field loudspeakers or headsets are provided for communication purposes. If there are any comprehension problems, a chat function with a keyboard is also available.

 

Present with the CI recipient are technically trained staff who connect the speech processor to the remote-fitting system and assist throughout the fitting process. The fitting is carried out by an experienced audiologist – as a rule, a member of staff of the German Hearing Centre (Deutsches HörZentrum, DHZ). Because of the quick reaction time and the high-definition image and sound quality of the remote-fitting system, it seems to the CI recipient as if he or she is actually sitting across from the audiologist. For the audiologist, on the other hand, the operation of the fitting software also ‘feels’completely normal.

After completing the fitting process, the usual hearing tests are carried out. The testing environment of the local ENT practice must meet the requirements of the DHZ so that the test results can be compared to previous results. At the end of the session, the test data is automatically transmitted to the central DHZ database, ensuring that all documentation and monitoring of the patient is complete. The database is even able to detect unexpectedly poor results automatically and suggest a more detailed investigation of possible causes at the DHZ. The required medical follow-up care of the CI recipient is provided by local ENT physicians who belong to the remote-care network.

A prerequisite for taking part in the remote-care programme is that a CI recipient must have three years’ experience with their implant, so that the fitting can be assumed to be more or less stable. Less experienced patients are recommended, for the time being, to continue to visit their implanting centre.

Patients who wish to continue to receive their future fitting at the DHZ are of course most welcome to do so. For all individuals implanted at MHH, it remains the case that initial fitting must be carried out at the DHZ as this requires fitting, therapy and medical check-ups to be closely linked over a period of five days. As this can only be provided by an experienced and well-coordinated interdisciplinary team with access to all available data for the patient, there is no way the initial fitting can be provided remotely.

Remote Care

Die Zahl der mit einem Cochlea-Implantat jährlich versorgten Patienten liegt in Deutschland inzwischen bei rund 3.500 – mit steigender Tendenz. Allein hier an der Medizinischen Hochschule in Hannover werden pro Jahr mittlerweile rund 500 hochgradig schwerhörige oder ertaubte Patienten mit einem Cochlea-Implantat versorgt. Viele von ihnen möchten allerdings gern an ihren Heimatorten die Nachsorge wahrnehmen – ohne auf die Kompetenz der versorgenden Klinik zu verzichten. Daraus entstand die CI-Fernanpassung „Remote Care“. Dabei ist es Patienten möglich, in ihrer Heimat bei einem niedergelassenen HNO-Arzt eine streng qualitätsgesicherte Cochlea-Implantat-Anpassung via Fernanpassung durchführen zu lassen.

Zum Einsatz kommt dabei eine Technologie des Unternehmens auric Hörsysteme aus Rheine. Für die CI-Fernanpassung stellt auric ein mit dem Deutschen HörZentrum Hannover neu entwickeltes System zur Echtzeitfernanpassung mit hochauflösendem Videobild zur Verfügung. Der PC auf der Seite des Audiologen ist mit zwei Monitoren ausgestattet, der Patient verfügt über einen Bildschirm, auf dem für den Patienten der anpassende Audiologe im Videobild zu sehen ist. Die Kommunikation ist über Mikrofon und Freifeld-Lautsprecher beziehungsweise Head-Sets möglich. Bei Verständigungsschwierigkeiten steht auch eine Chat-Funktion über Tastatur zur Verfügung.

 

Auf der Patientenseite steht technisch geschultes Personal bereit, das den Anschluss des Sprachprozessors an das Fernanpassungs-System herstellt und die Anpassung begleitet. Die Anpassung erfolgt durch einen erfahrenen Audiologen, in der Regel durch Mitarbeiter des Deutschen HörZentrums Hannover. Aufgrund der schnellen Reaktionszeit und der hohen Bild- und Tonqualität des Fernanpassungssystems wirkt die Anpassung für den Patienten fast so, als säße er dem Audiologen gegenüber. Auch für den Audiologen „fühlt“ sich die Bedienung der Einstellsoftware völlig normal an.

Ist die Einstellung abgeschlossen, folgen die bekannten Hörtests. Die Testumgebung in der HNO-Praxis entspricht den Vorgaben des DHZ, damit eine Vergleichbarkeit mit vorangegangenen Testergebnissen problemlos möglich ist. Am Ende der Sitzung werden die Testdaten automatisch in die zentrale Datenbank im DHZ geschickt, so dass eine lückenlose Dokumentation und Kontrolle der Hörleistungen des Patienten möglich ist. So kann die Datenbank sogar selbstständig unerwartet schlechte Ergebnisse erkennen und eine genauere Untersuchung der Ursache in Hannover vorschlagen. Die notwendige medizinische Betreuung der Patienten wird durch die am Netzwerk teilnehmenden niedergelassenen HNO-Ärzte sichergestellt.

Voraussetzung für die Patienten ist eine CI-Hörerfahrung von mindestens drei Jahren, nur dann kann eine möglichst stabile Einstellung vorausgesetzt werden. Patienten mit weniger Hörerfahrung empfehlen wir zunächst weiterhin den Besuch in der Klinik. Ebenso können Patienten, die auch künftig vor Ort im DHZ betreut werden wollen, natürlich gerne auch weiterhin ins DHZ kommen. Die Erstanpassungsphase verbleibt für alle an der MHH implantierten Patienten im Deutschen HörZentrum Hannover. Die hierfür erforderlichen, eng verzahnten Abläufe zwischen täglicher Anpassung, Therapie und medizinischer Kontrolle über einen Zeitraum von fünf Tagen sind nur von einem erfahrenen und eingespielten interdisziplinären Team unter Hinzunahme aller vom Patienten verfügbaren Daten realisierbar und können keinesfalls ausgelagert werden.